Test Day (barf)

While browsing various blogs and cookbooks last night, I decided to experiment with BBQ tofu. And yes, I think I may be the last vegan on the earth to finally purchase Veganomicon, but I was broke for so long, and then I was into the whole ‘find-all-my-recipes-via-blogging’ thing, and yadayadayadayada, I ended up buying it yesterday. It rules, btw. Anyway, I decided to make mashed potatoes and BBQ tofu for lunch today. The recipes/methods were inspired by Veganomincon‘s recipes, and my friends Ericka and Gillis. Plus the fact that I have to take my GRE in 4 hours, and I figured a good dose of protein would be best.

MASHED POTATOES (this is for 1 person; increase as necessary)

4 small Yukon Gold potatoes (washed and chopped into small 1-2 inch chunks)

2 T. Vegan Sour Cream (Tofutti)

1 T. Vegan Margarine

3 T. vegetable broth, or to taste

salt and pepper, to taste

DIRECTIONS

Boil potatoes for 15-20 minutes, until soft. Put in bowl, and mash with other ingredients. To make them REALLY creamy, used a hand-held blender, or put in the food processor.

BBQ TOFU

1 lb. Firm Tofu (pressed)

BBQ Sauce (Stubb’s is vegan/has no worchestire sauce)

Oil for marinade (I always use this wonderful garlic dressing to marinade tofu)

DIRECTIONS

Preheat Oven to 350. Cut tofu into nine rectangle slabs (or less, if you misjudge the width)

Coat with oil/marinade, and bake for 15 minutes. Turn over, and bake for another 15 minutes. Coat with BBQ sauce, and bake 15 more minutes.

Prep Time: The whole thing takes about an hour. The key is to make the mashed potatoes WHILE baking the tofu, because they take about half the time.

Leave a Reply

