New Recipes and Restaurants

So I began writing this post over the summer when I was living in Dallas/Fort Worth. I think I was at one point going to add recipe instructions, but I have, alas forgotten the details. I do remember them generally, though, and have described them below. This post was inspired when my friend Lindsay and I headed to Dallas for some good music at the Granada Theatre, which was delightful. After being stuck in traffic for an hour, we were starving. We decided to eat at Cafe Izmir, a Mediterranean Tapas Restaurant/Bar across from the Granada. Overall: delicious food, but small portions. Thursday is Ladies Night which meant 1/2 price wine and $15 pitchers of Sangria. We went with the Sangria, which was tasty and refreshing, and ordered a spicy eggplant dip, hummus, pita, and some falafel. The eggplant dip was really good, but the falafel was not the best falafel in the world. On the negative side, their hummus contains dairy, so I sat that one out–but according to Lindsay it does live up to it’s self-proclaimed “Best Hummus In Dallas” title. For the money, you should probably split the dinner for two (either vegetarian or meat-based options) for $23, since the tapas potions are a-la-carte.I give it 3.5 stars–good option when in the area, but really, as far as veg*n fare goes, you could do better.

On the cooking front, I did have some good experiments. Up first, tofu marinated in Mr. Yoshudia’s sauce and then pan fried. Served with steamed broccoli, asparagus, La Crema chardonnay:

Notes: Really good flavor with the marinade, and I only had to marinade it for about 5 minutes (after I pressed it). I used extra-firm tofu. Pretty fast and easy.

Next is Blackened Tofu with Black-Eyed Pea succotash with 3 Bean Salad:

I am a HUGE FAN of blackened tofu. This one I do actually have a recipe for, which I will be posting later this week with a much more delicious Blackened Tofu Sandwich recipe. The black eyed peas were a little freezer burned and didn’t work super well in this recipe, so that was a little sad.

And last but not least, Vegan Lunch Box‘s Spring Rolls with Peanut Sauce (Go buy this book, make these right now), a delicious salad my mom threw together (fresh avocado and cherry tomatoes will solve world problems) and a Soba Noodle Salad. The soba noodle salad was not fantastic, and I will probably not make it again. The other two, however, were amazing. Please please please go try these spring rolls Jenn is a genius genius genius.

Leave a Reply

